

Introduction to the IBBY Honour List Round Table discussion

Liz Page

Switzerland

In 1956 the Hans Christian Andersen Awards were established to celebrate the authors and illustrators of children's literature. During the first three years the Andersen Awards were presented for a single title and the selected list of titles were known as the Hans Christian Andersen Honour List. Only from 1962 were the Andersen Awards presented for the complete works and in 1966 the category of illustrator was added. Before 1974 there was one general category for the Honour List, which was "a good book". In 1974 the categories writing and illustrations were added and then in 1978 translation.

Since 1980 the IBBY Honour List has stood apart from the Andersen Awards and the books are selected by the National Sections. The first Honour List in 1956 comprised 15 titles and was published as a typewritten sheet. By 1980 the first real catalogue was published with a list of 81 titles. This was the first time that a short annotation of each title was included; the biographies were added in 1984. The 2010 IBBY Honour List includes 164 titles from 54 countries in 44 different languages.

Each of the catalogues since 1980 is available to download from the IBBY archives.





